23 June 2016, Beijing. Geely Auto Group (Geely) has delivered 20 Geely Emgrand EV’s to the Beijing Diplomatic Service Bureau, which is part of China’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA). The first 20 Emgrand EV’s were handed over at the Diao Yu Tai State Guest House by Geely Auto CEO Mr. An Conghui.

The deal follows in the footsteps of the delivery of 50 Geely GC9 models which were delivered in March 2015. The flagship Geely GC9 is currently being used by the MFA to service high level visits to China with heads of states, dignitaries and VIP’s using the Geely GC9’s on a regular basis.

The addition of the 20 Emgrand EV’s shows that the MFA is fully committed to showcasing and enacting a green policy at state level. The Emgrand EV is the first car from Geely’s Blue Geely Initiative which was announced in November 2015, under this initiative Geely plans to boldly transform its product portfolio into new energy vehicles of which the company expects to derive 90% of its sales from new energy vehicles by 2020.

The Emgrand EV is capable of traveling 253km on a single charge, enough for more than seven round trips from Beijing’s Capital Airport to the Diao Yu Tai State Guest House, furthermore In steady speed environments, the Emgrand EV is capable of achieving over 300km on a single charge. When using rapid speed charging the Emgrand EV can be charged to 80% capacity in just 30 minutes and on a slow charge it will reach full capacity in 14 hours.

Geely Auto Group CEO Mr. An Conghui expressed:“Geely Auto is currently transforming from being a traditional automotive manufacturer into becoming a new energy focused company. We are utilizing our international resources to developed a globally competitive company, with greater overseas investment, we’re bringing even better products to market that allows consumers to experience the high technology and quality levels offered by Geely.”

The Emgrand EV was first unveiled on November 18th 2015 and has since gone on limited sale in China to fleet buyers and certain cities such as Beijing, Shanghai and Guangzhou.